Hungarian National Assembly team wins V4 Parliamentary Football Tournament

The Hungarian National Assembly organised the football tournament of the V4 Parliamentary teams in Balatonfüred, on June 22-23, on the side-lines of the Informal Meeting of the Presidents and Speakers of Parliaments. The games were held in the standard-size football pitch of the Balatonfüred Football Club in two times forty minutes. The teams featured former and current MPs. The coupling of the Czech, Polish, Slovak and Hungarian football teams was decided by a draw of straws by Wolfgang Sobotka, Speaker of Austria’s National Council during the informal dinner on June 21. The first match took place on Friday afternoon between Poland and Slovakia, followed by a contest between Hungary and the Czech Republic. During the games involving the Speakers of the Hungarian, Czech, Polish and Slovak parliaments, Slovakia’s parliamentary team beat the Polish parliamentary eleven 1–0, following which the Hungarian National Assembly’s team – after a half-time result of 3–0 – beat the Czech parliamentary team 6–2. The Hungarian goals were shot by Miklós Zsolt Kis, Kristóf Szatmáry (2) and Zsolt Bohács (3), while the Czech goals were scored by Jan Kubík. The two losing sides played for the third place on Saturday, and the game resulted in Poland’s 4–1 victory against the Czech Republic. The final between Hungary and Slovakia started at 11 a.m. on June 23. Slovakia’s parliamentary team boasted several former members of the country’s national eleven. The two teams played a well-balanced game. With the goals scored by Péter Szíjjártó (minute 21 and 69), the Hungarian parliamentary football team headed by National Coach Zoltán Magyar defeated their Slovak opponents 2–0 and thus became the winner of the V4 parliamentary tournament.


Football teams Matches